RSS

Christina Aguilera, When she “Feels Like a Queen”

08 Jun

http://jezebel.com/5954900/christina-aguileras-bones-mangled-in-terrible-photoshop-incident

This is another somewhat frightening and ridiculous case of photoshop plastic surgery (or body swapping?) in an ad for Christina Aguilera’s new perfume line.

Image

Does anyone remember the Billboard Magazine interview (which I first read about on Jezebel) in which she said this?:

I got tired of being a skinny white girl. I am Ecuadorian but people felt so safe passing me off as a skinny, blue-eyed white girl … [In 2002,] I had gained about 15 pounds during promotion and during my Stripped tour. They called this serious emergency meeting about how there was a lot of backlash about my weight. Basically, theyd told me I would effect [sic] a lot of people if I gained weight — the production, musical directors. They claimed people I toured with would also miss out if I gained weight because I would sell no records or tickets for my shows. I was young, so I lost the weight quickly and was toothpick thin during [2006’s] Back to Basics promos and touring.

I told them during this Lotus recording, ‘You are working with a fat girl. Know it now and get over it.’ They need a reminder sometimes that I don’t belong to them. It’s my body. My body can’t put anyone in jeopardy of not making money anymore — my body is just not on the table that way anymore.

Searching for the above statement, I came across this post that talks about ethnicity, celebrity, and fat– which revealed that her commentary was completely fake! What kind of harm/good might these fake words have on conversations/culture surrounding female celebrities of color and their bodies?

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 8, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
