RSS

Too Bootylicious For Yah, Babe….

03 Jun

So apparently, H&M thought that Beyonce was too “bootylicious” for their new swimsuit ad campaign with her so they decided to retouch some of her photos in order to make her body fit with what they thought was more appropriate. Of course, Beyonce fixed that right away and didn’t approve the new photos. I guess H&M just isn’t ready for this jelly…

Here is the original article :

http://www.nydailynews.com/entertainment/gossip/beyonce-outraged-h-m-alters-curves-summer-campaign-report-article-1.1358827

Also, I saw this on hellogiggles.com. It’s a restaurant that asks women if they are beautiful. If they answer yes, their meal is free. They’re trying to improve self esteem on International Women’s Day. What do you guys think about this?

http://hellogiggles.com/if-you-are-a-beautiful-woman-you-can-eat-here-for-free

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 3, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Too Bootylicious For Yah, Babe….

  1. pencee

    June 6, 2013 at 11:06 pm

    I don’t know if you looked at them, but the comments on the Beyonce H&M article fascinated and saddened me, as internet comments frequently do. One commenter laments that “People have to get away from the Eurocentric ideal standards of beauty!” which I was happy to read, but then concludes with “We must embrace it and celebrate the female form for what it was intended to be; a Vision of Fertility!” which I was not completely happy to read.

    I have a sense of aversion to thinking about the female form only being a Vision Of Fertility.

     
  2. Lilly

    June 7, 2013 at 4:38 pm

    When I first saw Beyonce modeling for the new H&M ads, I was pleased that a celebrity and someone many people look up to was being represented–not only because of her race and fame, but also because of her more relatable body type. But then, as I was looking through the photos on the H&M website, I thought something was off, and here just proves that her photos were altered. I am displeased. A store like H&M, though they have a plus-sized line, has really no emphasis on diverse clothing sizes. I always see really thin models modeling their clothing, and I would really appreciate it if they considered more diversity. This also makes me wonder… if they retouched Beyonce’s ads, how much have they retouched their plus-sized modeling photos and ads?

     

Leave a Reply

 
